Posted by: namesconnie | October 14, 2011

My Worst Job by Connie Webb

My worst job is working the 9 to 4 a.m. night shift at a fast food restaurant after just graduating at age 17. “Why did I even bother going to high school?” I thought. Here I am in a dorky yellow and orange outfit and working the night shift so I can make a little over the minimum wage of $1.65 an hour. And now I have marks on my hands from minding that awful french fry fryer. My poor hair literally feels like grease. The people who come here so late at night are mostly drunk from a night out on the town. Why one girl was so drunk she just passed out backwards while looking up at the stupid menu high above her head.

Oh, and this food! It is so awful, but it is free to employees on our breaks, so I just deal with the greasy burgers and fries. I thank God I just happen to be thin due to my excessive chain smoking habit.

I will never get anywhere in this dead end job. I need to do something better. Some of my friends are off to college, but it seems my mom needs me at home to help out with my younger siblings, so here I am too guilty to try something else and abandon mom.

Being a cashier is the worst. This is a “have it your way” kind of joint. You have to get the orders right or the manager bugs you with his dumb criticism – talking to you like you are a two year old.

Then there are these guys who are sometimes older than my father, wanting to go on a date with me. I’m only 17! Haven’t they even heard of the term “jail bait”?

I pray daily none of my “better friends” or even high school teachers see me here. I can’t think of a more demoralizing job! I barely have enough money on top of it to even pay my mom the money she wants toward rent.

Don’t ever advise a young person to work at a fast food restaurant unless you want them to lose all the self-esteem they ever had!

Responses

  1. I love this! The specificity takes me right there next to the french fryer, wearing the yellow and red uniform. Wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

