Posted by: namesconnie | November 10, 2011

A Thanksgiving Nightmare

A Thanksgiving Nightmare

 

By

 

Connie Webb

 

My mom had five kids. She made a special effort to make nice holidays for us all. She cooked up some great meals. We all gathered around the table for our meals together. It was a fun and happy time most of the time, except for this one time.

 

It was Thanksgiving. My mom and I prepared all these wonderful dishes together while my stepdad and brothers watched a football game on TV.  We made a nice turkey, stuffing, gravy, homemade mashed potatoes, baked yams, green beans and mushrooms with fried onions, a nice salad, pumpkin and cherry pie and ice cream. It was truly a beautiful feast with a pretty table all set up for our family.

 

When dinner was ready, my mom announced it, but the boys and my stepdad were not budging. She said it again, but they still ignored her. This got her really upset! She said “Come on, Connie, let’s go! I will not stay here and share a meal where I am not appreciated at all and ignored and neither will you!” Off we went in her car, leaving behind all the delicious things we cooked and prepared together.

 

I couldn’t believe it. All that time and effort we spent cooking all those delicious Thanksgiving treats and my moms anger got the best of her and there we were on the road to who knows where.

 

Well, my mom came upon a 24 hour restaurant and we went in there. Barely anyone was in there, but a few workers. We sat down together and my mom ordered us both some drinks and the Thanksgiving special. We were eating our Thanksgiving meal at a restaurant and a cheap one at that. This was just awful. And my mom was ranting and raving and going on and on about how she is so unappreciated. Why did she have to take me with her? I would rather have stayed behind and enjoyed the great food we prepared! Instead I was staring at some dried up turkey and stuffing, some canned veggies and instant mashed potatoes. Yuk!

 

I barely ate and my mom barely ate. Afterwards we went home, my mom all calmed down after venting to me. My stepdad and brothers all had the food we prepared, but they were nice enough to put the foods away when they were done and cleaned up all the dishes. They all said they were sorry and praised mom and me for the delicious foods.

 

Mom felt better and so did I to be home. My stepdad warmed up foods for us and fixed two nice plates for my mom and I and we sat down and enjoyed our nice meals.

 

Never again when my mom said “Dinner’s ready” did anyone fail to drop what they were doing and move right along to the table. Maybe it took the Thanksgiving Nightmare to put a stop to all that. For the most part, those family meals still hold dear memories. I have special memories of mom and me cooking up all kinds of dishes in our kitchen together. Lots of joyful memories, except for that one Thanksgiving!

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. That sure wasn’t the best Thanksgiving. You described it well in being a nightmare. Well, I am happy to hear you had so many other joyous Thanksgiving memories. Happily, everyone listened when your Mom announced “Dinner’s ready” and this never happened again! Very well written, I enjoyed this one lots Connie. 🙂

    • Thanks Gabby Angel. Appreciate you visiting my site, too. 🙂

  2. This is an awesome post! As I read, I was drawn into the scene to the point of teary eyes at one point. I’m glad it turned out good in the end. Thanks for sharing and keep up with the good job!

    • Thank you Blue Gem. After reading some of your beautiful poems, I certainly appreciate your comments on my writing. Sincerely, Connie Webb


Leave a Reply

Categories

