Posted by: namesconnie | November 12, 2011

A Poem About Life

I tried to write a poem about life,

So I cut out all the “nice” words from magazines,

Spreading them out upon the table,

Trying to piece together a poem about life.

 

But I realized that life wasn’t just about strength, beauty, love and courage –

There were words about life that were missing;

Like poverty, homelessness, joblessness and despair;

Words like hate, war and violence –

Those words were missing.

 

So I knew I couldn’t just cut out the inspirational words

Expecting that to be a poem about life;

I mean it is a nice dream

To not cut out the negative words

And make a “nice” poem about life with magazine words,

But if I did

It wouldn’t really be a poem about life at all.

– By, Connie Webb

 

Responses

  1. This one was so right on Connie, I really liked how you summed it all up. Negative sadly does happen in life, I wish it didn’t. Great writing! 🙂

    • Thanks Gabby again for your really nice feedback. Sincerely, Connie


Leave a Reply

Categories

