Posted by: namesconnie | March 17, 2012

St. Patrick’s Day Memories of Mom

My mom was real big on St. Patrick’s Day. She colored our scrambled eggs green, our milk was green too on that day. She made sure every March 17th we would have corned beef and cabbage which was my favorite before I became a Vegan.

My mom was always in good cheer on that day particularly since her mom’s family were Scottish/Irish descent. We all wore green that day, of course, and took turns pinching each other until we would go find some green somewhere even if we just attached a piece of green paper to ourselves.

I do believe there is the luck of the Irish. In my family growing up with five of us kids, it is amazing things we survived. Some days were just a struggle to make ends meet for my mom, but we made it through with flying colors.

So today I put on my green shirt and keep happy memories with me of my mom who raised four boys and a girl, me, which of course must have required much luck to do all that! Amazing how our mothers become better and better the older we get. After all these years I see more and more how much strength and courage my mom had to do lots of the things she did. So to mom, whatever realm you are in now, Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

– Connie Webb

Responses

  1. Connie, that sounds like so much fun with the green foods 🙂 I hope your day is going good, hold on to the good memories 🙂 Great post!!

    • Thanks Autumn. My day went well and hope yours did, too. Take care. Sincerely, Connie Webb

  2. Wonderful memories of your St. Patrick’s Day Connie. Your Mom sure made it so special, I loved reading this post. 🙂

    • Thanks Gabby for your kind words. Hope you are doing well. Take care. Sincerely, Connie Webb


Leave a Reply

Categories

