Posted by: namesconnie | January 11, 2014

How I Am Doing a Month into My Raw Food Lifestyle

IMG_20140120_203706 (1)

It was a nice foggy day in Fort Bragg, California, not too hot, not too cold. I am grateful I live in a small town with such beauty around me.

Recently I have seen whale spouts and even the backs of whales at Glass Beach not too far from where I live. I also enjoy seeing the geese flying overhead, the deer in the meadow and once in awhile even a jack rabbit hopping around. I love seeing the friendly seagulls and ravens doing their little antics around town, too.

I was riding my bike one day and happened upon a little baby raccoon popping its head out from under the gutter. So cute!

I have seen quail and even an owl fly by. So amazing to live in such a nature filled spot. This after living in big concrete cities is really a “great” change.

I am one month and a week into a raw food diet. So far so good. Learning new recipes and sprouting lentils and garbanzo’s. Flavor is the key here, so I try to make good tasting recipes. Checking out lots of Raw Food recipes on the internet and cookbooks from the library, too. I discovered a delicious salad dressing that is quite easy to make. I had bought an expensive brand and realized that maybe I could at least look at some of the ingredients and make something myself “similar” with what I had at home and here is what I came up with. This salad dressing has five ingredients: 1 TB cold pressed olive oil, 1 tsp tahini, 1 TB apple cider vinegar, 1 TB lemon, 1 TB soy sauce. The soy sauce could be wheat free “Tamari” or “Nama Shoyu” to be more “raw” but I have not found that in my local nearby store yet, so will have to order that online. I am trying not to be too picky as I am still doing fairly well with everything else being raw. Salads taste amazing with that dressing and you can use more or less of the 5 ingredients to your liking.

So how do I feel? Well, I have to tell you that at age 56, I feel like I have quite a bit more energy than I used to from eating fresh fruits, veggies, nuts, seeds and sprouted lentils and garbonzo’s. I certainly will have to take up a hobby or even walk or ride my bike more. Even did some housework effortlessly with all this energy I have now. Well, maybe not “effortlessly”, but I seem to have not made such a big deal out of it.

Another factor is I am noticing so much more than I used to notice. Maybe it is more “clarity” like I have read about. Today I saw my sink area and was a bit disgusted. So immediately I got to scrubbing everything to a nice shine.

I also am looking into organizing things more around here, too. I think since I never feel loaded down with food anymore and don’t get that sleepy feeling after eating, I have way more time to read or watch interesting documentaries or shows. I watched the old time Smothers Brothers on DVD recently and it was good to laugh at the humor from the past and hear the old time singers, too.

I think I may be becoming more of the real me. I always wanted to be fairly happy and it seems I am getting there. How nice that side effect is from just changing my diet. Anyway, I do have high hopes for things to change for me more positively as I live this raw food lifestyle. Besides feeling more positive by filling my mind with positive things, already my clothes are fitting much looser and that is a good thing especially since middle age for me has often been a struggle or hard work to even  lose a few pounds! This new way has me feeling full, energized and in a good mood. I do not want to go back to the old way of living.

I know this raw food lifestyle is not for everyone, but I do admit I am much happier than in the past. I am enjoying watching videos of others on this raw food living plan, too. They seem so happy and lively and great examples. It did take a bit to get used to un-cooking, but I feel I have learned enough to do okay for now. I will continue to learn more from the un-cookbooks I am reading, too. I am enthused! Hope you can find and be inspired by something “new” in your life, too. Peace to all!

– Writing and Raw Food “Magazine Photos” Collage by, Connie Webb 1/10/14

Leave a Reply

Categories

