Posted by: namesconnie | January 8, 2015

The Day I Stopped Loving You

art 003

There came a moment in time,
When my mind just said,
I don’t love you anymore.

It just hit me in that one moment,
Not the moment you hit me;
Not the moment’s you put me down;
Not the moment’s you made me cry;
But just a moment in time,
When I found myself thinking,
I don’t love him anymore.

And I knew that your flowers,
Your “I love you’s”;
Your beautiful cards that I never got before;
Could never change that moment in time;
When I discovered,
I just didn’t love you anymore.

I am thankful for that moment in time,
That woke me up to the fact,
That I no longer deserved abuse;
But I just had to have that moment,
That helped me to leave you;
Which was the moment I fell out of love with you;
After years of being in love through many tough times.

For anyone abused,
I wish you that moment in time;
When you fall out of love,
In order to get your life back!

Artwork and Poem by, Connie Webb

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on in search of joy.

    • Thank you for the reblog. Sincerely, Connie Webb

  2. Oh dear, when it read…the day I stopped loving you, I heard myself actually saying it… Great poem. I loved it

    • Thank you Maureen for your comment! Hope you are doing well for today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

